Wildcilla's Culinary Daydreams


Nectarine Spice Cake
September 13, 2009, 4:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have discussed my obsession with nectarines with you before.  I picked up a few more this week, and had 2 left after I spent the week devouring my fruit basket.  So I made Nectarine Spice Cake.  It’s beautiful, it’s simple, it’s a coffee cake if you want or an after party cake if you’d rather.  It’s superb.  And it has nectarines.

Nectarine Spice Cake

Adapted from Epicurious

Preheat your oven to 350.  Butter a 9 inch cake pan (or Pam it, like I did).  The Epicurious recipe called for a Springform pan, but mine is broken, so I just used my perfect for everything silicone cake pan, and it worked just fine.  Mix 1/2 cup (1 stick) of room temperature butter in a big bowl until fluffy.  Add 3/4 cup sugar (I used half brown and half white – would have been good with all brown, too) and blend.  Add 2 eggs, one at a time, and blend.  Add 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice and the zest from that lemon.  I threw in 1 teaspoon or so of vanilla, too, because what’s a cake without vanilla.  Then beat in 1 1/4 cup self rising* flour.

*Self Rising Flour – I have a well stocked kitchen with appliances no one will ever need, whole wheat pastry flour that I used for one recipe, and 4 kinds of sugar.  However, I do not have self rising flour.  So I made my own – 1 cup self rising flour = 1 cup regular flour, 1 heaping teaspoon baking powder and 1/4 teaspoon salt.

Now, take 2 or 3 nectarines, and try to not eat them while you’re doing this.  Slice them in half, and then slice the halves into 4 pieces.  You want thick pieces of fruit.  Now, the original recipe called for me to arrange the nectarines and then sprinkle them with sugar.  I poured a few teaspoons of sugar (I used turbinado, because it makes for pretty caramelization, but you can use whatever), some cinnamon, and some ginger powder into a ziploc, put the nectarines in the bag and shook it around a bit.

Then pour the batter into the pan, and place the nectarines in a circle over the batter.  Nestle the nectarines in good.  You should have plenty of nectarines to make most of the top of the cake fruit.

Bake it for 45 minutes at 350, and you have yourself an awesome little cake.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

