Wildcilla's Culinary Daydreams


Kitchen Experiments
September 9, 2009, 7:37 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I made carnitas for the first time this weekend and I made poached eggs for the first time today!  I know, I know, the wild and crazy life I lead.  But now I know how to make both things!  That’s really all for today.  Pride and joy in experimentation.

Carnitas was just 3 pounds of pork shoulder covered in 1 cup orange juice, 3 cups water and 2 teaspoons salt.  It simmered 2 hours on low and then sizzled until all of the liquid was gone.  Next time, I think I would add a little less water, and add onions and garlic and maybe tomato paste once it got to the sizzling stage.  Delicious.  It made a TON, so prepare yourself with guests.

Poached eggs were a little weird, but worked eventually.  I only wasted one experiment egg (and one fried egg I made just in case poached would never work – but I kept that in the fridge to do a further experiment to see if fried eggs keep in the fridge).  Out of all the random kitchen appliances and gadgets I have, I do not have a poached egg maker.  Actually, I’d never had a poached egg before tonight (so I guess that’s what I made).  Simmering water, toss in an egg, turn off the heat and cover the pot for 3 minutes.

Got any kitchen experiment ideas I should try?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

