Wildcilla's Culinary Daydreams


Spaghetti Carbonara
August 21, 2009, 7:46 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Breakfast is the ultimate comfort food.  Bacon and eggs and pancakes – it says leisurely, weekend at 10 am when you have time to read the paper instead of visiting www.msn.com and make coffee instead of rush through 7-11.  So since I haven’t had a leisurely morning this week, and this weekend doesn’t look like it either, I’m having breakfast for dinner.

Now, in my younger, immature days, when I used to fight my Dad for the bowl with the bunny in the bottom (they still have that bowl, I think I still fought for it last time I was home) The Internet is awesome. I actually found the bowls.– back in those days, I was all about the sugary coffee cake, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, sugar for an early morning rush kind of breakfasts.

Now that I’ve matured, bacon and eggs are my favorite part of breakfast.  My personal best ‘got to sleep in breakfast’/’had to work late dinner’ is a toad in the hole, with a fried egg cooked into your bread so it all mixes together when you break the yolk.  (Toad in a hole is a ridiculously mature breakfast choice, if in name only.)  But we had that a few nights ago.

So this time I’m making breakfast for dinner, Italian style.  This dish is rich and decadent and amazingly easy.  Comfort food at it’s best.

Spaghetti Carbonara is easy.  Throw  some bacon in a pan while you’re boiling water and cooking some angel hair pasta.  Along side the bacon, toss in a smushed garlic clove.  Take the garlic out once it’s brown on all sides – you can dice it up and add it to the pasta if you want – I don’t because I normally burn it when I forget about the bacon. It’s just there to give a little garlic flavor.

When the bacon is ready (you want it chewy, not crispy) take it out of the pan,  pour out all but a tablespoon of the bacon grease, and keep the pan off the heat.  (By pour it out, I clearly mean into your bacon grease container that you keep in the fridge.  I’m not just talking about not pouring hot grease down the disposal.  Don’t waste liquid gold.  Whatever recipe you have, it would be better with bacon.)

Meanwhile, while the pasta and bacon are cooking, crack one egg per serving of pasta into a dish.  Scramble it up and add some salt and pepper and some red pepper flakes if you want.  When the pasta is done, drain it and toss it into your bacon pan – which should not be searing hot any more, just warm.  Now, pour the eggs on top of the pasta and mix it around a bit.  You DON’T want the eggs to scramble, so if your pan was hotter than you thought, pour it right back into the dish.  The hot pasta will cook the eggs.*  Slice or rip up the bacon over the top, mix it all around, and you’ve got it.  You should have a bowl of pasta in a creamy sauce with bacon flecks throughout.  Dive in.  Saturday morning in a grownup Italian bowl.  (You can eat it out of a bunny bowl if you want, but you have to fight my Dad for it.)

Spaghetti Carbonara

*I live life like I’m sky-diving.  I’m crazy, I’m impervious to pain, I’m adventurous, I am a young and irresponsible whippersnapper.  I eat eggs that maybe aren’t cooked completely thoroughly – though they do heat in the pan and with the pasta!!  But “elderly, small children, pregnant women and persons with weakened immune systems are at increased risk for serious illness from egg-related Salmonellosis.”  So be careful.  But the rest of us, throw caution to the wind!  It’s pasteurized, you’ll be fine.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

