Wildcilla's Culinary Daydreams


Southern Blackberry Cobbler Ice Cream
August 13, 2009, 7:43 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized
Blue Bell Southern Blackberry Cobbler Ice Cream

Blue Bell Southern Blackberry Cobbler Ice Cream

Blue Bell ice cream, blackberries and cobbler.  How could life be better?  Chris has fallen for this ice cream.  However, they only sell it at one grocery store in Lubbock, and so on my recent trip to Wal-mart (I know, I am responsible for the downfall of the universe for shopping at Wal-mart, but they have better meat, what can you do) I couldn’t find his ice cream.  So I came home with big plans to recreate Oma’s blackberry cobbler with Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla on it, and all will be right with the world again.

There was one summer when I was a kid that Aunt Barbara and Oma went a little nuts for blackberries, or dewberries, which is what you have in Central Texas.  Hunting for berries was hot work that involved every nursery in Travis and Caldwell counties, but it was completely made up for afterwards.  Hunting for and bringing home and washing and freezing all the berries meant that there was always a bag of dewberries at Oma’s.  One of my favorite memories is Lockhart on hot, lazy afternoons in the backyard at Oma’s house with a bowl of berries and a scoop of ice cream.  Always and only Blue Bell homemade vanilla.

So, I’m going to follow most of Homesick Texan’s Dewberry Cobbler Recipe.  I’ll let you know what I do differently.  And I will eat it in my backyard, with my parents (! who are visiting this weekend, I’m thrilled!!), thinking of Oma and lazy summer days.

“Oh, blackberry tart, with berries as big as your thumb, purple and black, and thick with juice, and a crust to endear them that will go to cream in your mouth, and both passing down with such a taste that will make you close your eyes and wish you might live forever in the wilderness of that rich moment.” – Richard Llewellyn

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

