Wildcilla's Culinary Daydreams


Cookbook
July 27, 2009, 10:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So I am making a Texas cookbook for my dear friend Morgan, who is getting married this weekend. Morgan is marrying an incredibly suave, sophisticated foreigner, who is whisking her away from Texas to Switzerland. I figure she should have a set of recipes that make her feel like home, so I’m putting together a little book for her.
Tell me if there is anything crucial to Texas/ Tex-Mex cuisine that I am leaving out.
Margarita’s
Sweet Tea
Salsa
Queso (without Velveeta and Rotel tomatoes – she’s going to have to do the shopping there too!)
Corn Tortillas
Cheese Enchiladas
Chili
Cornbread
Rice
Beans
Texas Sheet Cake

I’m also going to throw a few local things in a bag for her – bbq sauce, masa harina, jalapenos, canned tomatoes…

Any other ideas to add to my Texas care package??

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Bryan says tamales and pizza. I say BBQ, Mexican rice, and chicken fried steak. When I lived outside Texas I think I missed Blue Bell and chick-fil-a the most, but I doubt they will pass on their recipes. Great idea for a gift! Have a great time at the wedding.

Comment by Jen




Leave a Reply

