Wildcilla's Culinary Daydreams


Basil Lemonade
July 26, 2009, 2:50 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

First things first.  I’m getting those chairs today.  It’s going to be awesome.  And I miss Chris.  I’m glad he’s coming home tomorrow.

Anyway, before moving here, I had never lived in a dry county.  In fact, I didn’t really think they still existed.  I thought they had gone by the wayside as society progressed, like slavery, VCR’s or fencing.  But no, I was wrong.  I’ve lived here for about a year and a half now, and it’s a real thing.  Crazy.  (Lubbock voted on it again this year, and normal people prevailed – it’s supposed to be legal to sell in city limits now.  Of course, there were trillions of lawsuits, so it hasn’t happened yet.  But supposedly, it will soon.)

Buying from the Strip makes me feel like I’m doing something incredibly illicit and illegal.  You have to drive to the edge of town to get there, and once you’re there, it’s like a terrible, cheap Vegas.  All of the stores have bright lights and flashing signs, and once you’re inside, it feels like  you’ve stepped into the back section of the video store.  After you make your purchase, they cover everything with brown paper, which makes me feel like a hobo.  Then you can drive back into town and be a normal person.  Only Lubbock could make a bottle of Chardonnay feel like you just bought heroin.

So I went through all this yesterday so I could buy a bottle of Tito’s vodka.  It makes me miss Austin, but it’s a good hurt.  I made basil lemonade to go along with it.  I was wary, because that sounded like an odd combination.  It turned out to be delicious.  And it went perfectly with smuggled Tito’s.

Basil Lemonade

2 cups basil lemon syrup (recipe below)

2 cups water

2 cups ice cubes

1 and 1/4 cup lemon juice (about 8 lemons – I know it’s annoying to juice them, but it tastes so much better than that little bottle)

Mix it all up and pour it in to tall glasses with ice.

Basil Lemon Syrup (makes 2 cups)

2 cups fresh basil, complete with stems

2 cups water

1 cup sugar

Zest of 2 lemons in long strips

Boil to dissolve sugar.  Take off heat and let stand, covered, for 1 hour.  Chill 1 hour, and then strain.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

