Wildcilla's Culinary Daydreams


Beer Bread
July 20, 2009, 6:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Here is a song to get you in the right frame of mind to talk about beer bread.

That’s the Beer Song!!

In heaven there is no beer (no beer)
That’s why we drink it here (right here)
And when we’re all gone from here
All our friends will be drinking all our beer

Ok, now you’re ready.
I made you Bellamy’s a beer bread with Shiner and rosemary when we were in Port Aransas. Ah, Port Aransas. That was a beautiful vacation.
I digress. Easiest quick bread ever. I keep the dry ingredients in a jar in my pantry so I can ‘just add beer’ when I need this bread.

12 ounces beer
3 cups flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
3 tablespoons sugar
1 and 1/2 teaspoons salt

Mix all the dry ingredients and add beer. Stir. Grease your pans! Cook this in two small loaf pans at 375 for 35 to 45 minutes, 1 big pan for an hour.

That’s it. Could life be easier? Now that’s the basics. You can always make life more interesting. I melt butter in my loaf pans and use that to grease the pans and add the butter to the mix. Make it with Corona and lime zest and kosher salt on top. Make it with dark chocolaty beer and dark chocolate and orange zest. Make it with rosemary, or shredded cheeses, or replace 1/2 cup of flour with oats and use oatmeal beer. Use honey instead of sugar. Think about whatever flavors are in your beer and add some of that.
Easy, delicious, endless variations.

Just so you know how much I like this recipe… I wrote it on a recipe card and framed it and it lives in my kitchen.  That and yogurt cake.  And cobbler.  Ok, guilty nerdy kitchen secret time is over.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What tune is the Beer Song sung to?

Comment by Jen

I don’t know how to write a tune, but if you call me I will sing it to you,

Comment by wildcilla




Leave a Reply

