Wildcilla's Culinary Daydreams


Spicy Grilled Pork Tenderloin
July 19, 2009, 6:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Here’s this evening’s dinner attempt, loosely based on Epicurious’ Adobo Rubbed Pork.  We’ve got 2 pounds of a pork tenderloin, and I’m going to leave it whole instead of chopping it up like in that recipe.  I’m going to rub it down with salt and pepper, paprika, New Mexico Chili Powder, a little cayenne and some brown sugar, maybe add a clove of garlic.  Then we’re going to grill it instead of roast it – so grill mark all four sides and then let it hang out until it gets to 145 or 150 degrees in the middle.  I’m not sure how long that will take – I’m going to guess for 30 minutes and then go check on it.

I like the sound of the black bean pico de gallo too.  Looks like we just mix up drained black beans, some chopped tomatoes, red onion, cilantro (unless you’re a cilantro tastes like soap person), a jalapeno (all I have is a serrano, so this will have a kick), some salt and pepper.  They said to add lemon juice too, but I’m going with a lime or two and their zest.  When we’re ready to eat, I’ll add some avocado.  Mmm.  Avocado.  God’s butter in vegetable form.

Serve that up with tortillas, maybe some rice (ooo, I’ll make it with my vegetable stock I don’t know what to do with).  Wish we had Mexican beers.  Silly Lubbock and their dry county-ness.  I’ll stick with Coke Zero.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

How’d it turn out?

Comment by Bryan

Delicious, it made great shredded pork tacos with the leftovers today too.

Comment by wildcilla




Leave a Reply

